Thursday, December 31, 2015

Three to Get Ready by Sean Michael

Author Name: Sean Michael Book Name: Three To Get Ready Series: Mannies Incorporated Book: Four This book can be read as a standalone Release Date: December 18, 2015  

Thank you very much for having me and helping to celebrate the release of Three to Get Ready, a Mannies Incorporated Novel.

The Mannies books always come out at the end of the year, so this means it’s the end of yet another year. I can’t believe how quickly 2015 went by. It hardly seems that long ago that it was the end of 2014 and I was getting ready for another year. And yet, here we are already saying goodbye to 2015.

I thought I’d do a little retrospective on the year.

Firsts in 2015:
Self-publishing (reprints and new books!)
Going to Disney
Signing up for my first convention (Coastal Magic in February 2016)

Favorite holiday in 2015:
Like most years, this one was my visit to BA and Julia for Thanksgiving.

Favorite purchase in 2015:
My new chair, though I’m going to have to stop using it during the day if it continues to suck me in and make me fall asleep on a regular basis.

Goals reached:
I wrote over a million words
I wrote over 300 blog posts on my personal blog
I posted more regularly to Facebook and Twitter
I got a little more organized, keeping up with the todo list most of the time

There were things I didn’t get accomplished that I’d wanted to, but one of my goals for next year is to focus more on the positive, and I’m going to start by not worrying about goals that I was unsuccessful at this year. It’s not like I can get any of that done in 2015 now!

All in all, it was a good year and I hope 2016 is a good one, not only for myself but for everyone, especially my wonderful readers.

Smut fixes everything

Blurb: Single father Jack Jones is in dire need of a new nanny. His five year old son Nathan is legally blind, he has twin baby girls arriving in less than two months and the girl currently working for him is leaving at Thanksgiving to go home and continue her higher education. If Mannies Incorporated doesn’t come up with a viable candidate soon, he’s not sure what he’s going to do. Dan Miller is on the hunt for a new job. He’s had some great placements with Mannies Incorporated, many as Manny to multiple birth families to get them over the hump. He even has experience with special needs children, so the job he’s interviewing for looks like it’s right up his alley. When Dan arrives at Jack’s house, he discovers that this Jack Jones is his Jack Jones, the man he was in love with during college, and who broke up with Dan because Dan wanted children. Will Dan and Jack be able to put the past behind them and work together, or will their past keep them from having a future together? <!–more–> Pages or Words: 64,000 words/190 pages Categories: Contemporary, Erotica, Fiction, Gay Fiction, M/M Romance, Romance Excerpt: Dan Miller followed the instructions on his GPS to one Jack Jones’ house for his interview. He was trying to decide if it was a good or bad omen that he’d dated a Jack Jones. It had ended, so maybe bad. On the other hand, they’d ended because Jack didn’t want kids and he did, which was better to learn early on, before they’d invested a lot of time in each other, right? So good sign. Chuckling at himself, he went over what Drake at Mannies Inc had told him about the family. Single gay dad, one special needs son – the boy was nearly six and clinically blind. Apparently he could see general shapes if they were high contrast and he could see lights and light contrast. There were twin girls on their way. In a couple of weeks in a few weeks in fact. Newborns were Dan’s favorite. He loved that new baby smell. He loved their chubby little cheeks and limbs, their fat bellies and how quickly they changed. After reading the file, he’d had to agree with Drake that he seemed like a really good fit for the family. The position was live-in, so he paid close attention as the condo came into view. Not far from the beach, it was a decent size, not too big, but not tiny. The front was neat and he could see the backyard was fenced in. Pulling into the drive, he turned off the engine and took a deep breath. Okay. Interview time. He climbed out of the car, with his best ‘I’m the perfect man to look after your kids’ face on. He knocked on the front door. “Daddy! Maddie, someone is here!” “I’ll get it, man. Hopefully this one will work for your daddy, Mr. Picky. I have to leave the week of Thanksgiving. I have to.” The door opened and a lovely dark-skinned young woman stood there with a skinny little boy in thick glasses. “Hey there. Can I help you?” “Hi, Dan Miller. I’m here to see Mr. Jones?” “Sure. Come on in. I’m Maddie, Nathan’s personal assistant.” She winked at him. “Very nice to meet you.” He shook her hand. Then he turned his attention to the little boy. “Hey there, You must be Nathan.” “Uh-huh. Nathan James Jones.” One hand was held out. “Pleased meeting you.” Dan took Nathan’s hand and shook it solemnly. “Pleased to meet you, too.” “Hey there. Sorry, man. I was paying some bills. Crazy life.” Dan looked up at the familiar voice and blinked. Strong jaw, blond curls, and the bluest eyes in the history of the earth — that was Jack. His Jack. Dan felt like he’d been poleaxed. His Jack who didn’t want kids, no way no how was he fucking crazy for even suggesting it. “Jack?” Oh, smooth, Dan. Clearly it was Jack. Hell, even if he couldn’t believe his eyes, the folder he’d gotten from Drake had said the guy’s name was Jack. “Dan? Danny? Oh, my God!” Jack’s eyes went wide. “Look at you. You look amazing.” He kind of hated the way Jack’s words made him stand a little taller, a little straighter. “So do you. The years have been good to you.” Twelve years. Shit, things had changed in that time, that much was obvious, but not how just a glance from those devastating eyes could make his cock perk up. That hadn’t changed a damn bit. Buy the book:  
Meet the author: Often referred to as “Space Cowboy” and “Gangsta of Love” while still striving for the moniker of “Maurice,” Sean Michael spends his days surfing, smutting, organizing his immense gourd collection and fantasizing about one day retiring on a small secluded island peopled entirely by horseshoe crabs. While collecting vast amounts of vintage gay pulp novels and mood rings, Sean whiles away the hours between dropping the f-bomb and pursuing the kama sutra by channeling the long lost spirit of John Wayne and singing along with the soundtrack to “Chicago.” A long-time writer of complicated haiku, currently Sean is attempting to learn the advanced arts of plate spinning and soap carving sex toys. Barring any of that? He’ll stick with writing his stories, thanks, and rubbing pretty bodies together to see if they spark. Where to find the author: Facebook: Blog Link: Sean Michael Cover Artist: Kris Norris Tour Dates & Stops: 18-Dec: Inked Rainbow Reads, Gay Book Reviews, Mikky’s World of Books, Kirsty Loves Books, Dawn’s Reading Nook 21-Dec: Sassygirl Books 22-Dec: Open Skye Book Reviews, Divine Magazine, Book Lovers 4Ever, Foxylutely Book Reviews 23-Dec: Velvet Panic 24-Dec: Unquietly Me, The Novel Approach 25-Dec: Havan Fellows 28-Dec: Up All Night, Read All Day, Scattered Thoughts & Rogue Words 29-Dec: MM Good Book Reviews, Prism Book Alliance 30-Dec: Bayou Book Junkie 31-Dec: Book Reviews, Rants, and Raves, The Hat Party 1-Jan: Happily Ever Chapter 4-Jan: QUEERcentric Books, Full Moon Dreaming 5-Jan: Making It Happen 6-Jan: Elisa – My Reviews and Ramblings 7-Jan: Multitasking Mommas, 3 Chicks After Dark 8-Jan: Molly Lolly, A.M. Leibowitz 11-Jan: Wicked Faerie’s Tales and Reviews 12-Jan: Jessie G. Books 13-Jan: Bonkers About Books 14-Jan: Love Bytes, Alpha Book Club  

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, December 29, 2015

Broken Records by Lilah Suzanne

Broken Records 1600px COVER (RGB) - Front  

Author Name: Lilah Suzanne Book Name: Broken Records Series: Spotlight Book: One Release Date: December 17, 2015 Blurb: Los Angeles-based stylist Nico Takahashi loves his job—or at least, he used to. Feeling fed up and exhausted from the cutthroat, gossip-fueled business of Hollywood, Nico daydreams about packing it all in and leaving for good. So when Grady Dawson—sexy country music star and rumored playboy—asks Nico to style him, Nico is reluctant. But after styling a career-changing photo-shoot, Nico follows Grady to Nashville where he finds it increasingly difficult to resist Grady’s charms. Can Nico make peace with show business and all its trappings, or will Grady’s public persona get in the way of their private attraction to each other?

Tuesday, December 22, 2015

Nicholas by Dianne Hartsock


Author Name: Dianne Hartsock Book Name: Nicolas Release Date: December 18, 2015

Thank you so much BRRR for finding a spot for me during this busy holiday season. The question is how does my story differ from other stories? I like to think my NICOLAS is unique in that I didn’t use the well-known legend of Santa Claus and his elves. My story involves the Krampus, the terrible creature that chases St. Nicolas through the centuries.
Instead of sweet, magical elves helping Santa deliver toys and goodies to everyone, my Nicolas has a dark troll at his side, haunting his steps, bringing nightmare and terror in his wake. In the legend of the Krampus, he’s the one who punishes the children when they are bad. He’s the dark side to Nicolas’s goodness.
I twisted this legend a little, having my Nico fleeing from this dark entity. He only wishes to be left alone, to continue spreading his word of unity and peace to the world. But the Krampus won’t let him be. Nico had stopped him from murdering three children, accidently killing the man the Krampus had been in the process. The Krampus won’t forgive him for that, and Nico can’t forgive himself for taking another’s life.
The Krampus uses this feeling of guilt against him, destroying every relationship he tries to have by making him feel unworthy of love. But then Nico meets Jamie, an artist who has given up on love. They come together against the Krampus, but will their love be enough to defeat him?
NICOLAS is the story of fear and guilt, love and redemption. It’s a legend brought to life, with a dark twist and a promise of a happy future. A slightly different take on the Santa Clause theme.
Happy Holidays!

  Blurb: Betrayed by a lover, Jamie rents an isolated cabin on Lake Huron, wanting only to be left alone. Instead, he is pulled from his solitary existence as an artist and tumbles headlong into the legend of Saint Nicolas. As a young man, Nicolas accidentally killed a man intent on murdering three children, only to have the man's malicious spirit rise up against him. Fleeing through the centuries from the Krampus, the evil troll-like creature that dogs his steps, Nico finds refuge with the young artist who takes him into his home and bed. But Jamie has questions. Who is Nicolas, and why does the Krampus want to destroy him? When the Krampus begins to torment and torture anyone Nico comes in contact with to punish him, Jamie’s life is put in danger. And Jamie isn’t sure whether he can help Nico defeat his nemesis or if he’s merely a pawn in the Krampus’s game.

Monday, December 21, 2015

Dom of Ages by K.C. Wells and Parker Wiliams


Author Names: K.C. Wells & Parker Williams Book Name: Dom of Ages Series: Collars & Cuffs Book: Seven Release Date: December 21, 2015 Blurb: Eli may only be thirty, but he has had enough of pretend submissives. He wants a sub who truly knows how to submit. So when he spies Jarod in a BDSM club, everything about the man screams submission. It doesn’t matter that Jarod has to be about twenty years older than Eli. What does age matter, anyway? Not one to miss an opportunity, Eli moves fast and takes Jarod home with him, without thinking things through. All he can see is what he’s always wanted – a sub who wants to serve. Jarod spent twenty-eight years with his Master, until Fate took Phillip from him. Four years on, and Jarod is still lost, so when a young Dom takes charge, Jarod rolls with it and finds himself serving again. But he keeps waiting for the shoe to drop. Because there’s going to come a point when Eli realizes he’s a laughing stock in the club. Who would want to be seen with a fifty-year-old sub? And when the moment of humiliation does arrive, Jarod flees. He’d be better off with Phillip. Despite several missteps, what happens forces Eli to understand that Jarod needs him as much as he needs Jarod. But he knows in order to find happiness, they need friends who will understand. A friend keeps telling him Collars & Cuffs is what they need. Eli finally goes to visit, refusing to risk Jarod being hurt again, and finds everything he's heard about the club is true. When he takes Jarod, he watches as his sub is met with open arms. As they settle in to their new life, Eli begins to see things differently. And he dares to think he can have it all. Until the phone call that shows him he didn't realize what he could lose.

Wednesday, December 16, 2015

The Love Triangle Gone Wrong by Rob Rosen


Author Name: Rob Rosen Book Name: The Love Triangle Gone Wrong Release Date: December 16, 2015 Blurb: Five actors, one play, a murder, and a security guard who seeks the truth, not to mention love, all set the stage for this hilarious tale of mystery and intrigue in small town America. You’ll never guess what, or who, is going to come next!

Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Heart on the Run by Havan Fellows and Lee Brazil

Beacon Hill, Boston in snow. 

Beacon Hill, Boston in snow. Author Name: Lee Brazil & Havan Fellows Book Name: Heart on the Run Series: Hearts of Parkerburg Book: Two (can be read as a standalone) Release Date: November 16, 2015
Blurb: Charles Darwin Millsworth, Chaz to one and all since infancy, has no wish to live up to the grandeur of his name. Fortunately, his Southern belle mama isn’t at all inclined to push her son into a career that won’t make him happy. She thinks he needs to loosen up and enjoy life. After all, that’s the whole point of being independently wealthy, isn’t it? Chaz can see her point, but his father died in his forties as did his father before him. As far as Chaz is concerned, he has limited time on this earth to make his dreams come true. And he refuses to leave anyone weeping over a wasted life. Sprocket Moretti is a simple guy. He loves his job, enjoys college, lives in his beloved childhood home—why worry about the little things when the big stuff looks so good. Unfortunately one of the little things he tries not to stress over is a broken friendship with a very hot and bewildering sous chef. They were pals, hung out and had fun. But one night they stepped over that invisible line, and the next morning Chaz kicked Sprocket out of his bed and his life. Now, no matter how much Sprocket tries to charm Chaz, the guy has no desire to return to their pre-sex playful bantering ways. And if Sprocket stays true to his motto, this little thing—Chaz—should be written off and never worried about again. If Sprocket had known one night of reality altering orgasms would endanger their easygoing friendship… How do you finish that sentence when all your mind wants is its friend back and all your body wants is another taste?

Thursday, December 10, 2015

The Right Kind of Woman by Voss Porter

rkow - c-3  

Author Name: Voss Porter Book Name: The Right Kind of Woman Series: Southern Lesbians Book: One Release Date: December 10, 2015  

Blurb: Just when free-spirited farm girl, Cara Spencer Holloway, feels the regulatory world of her closeted, Southern enclave will swallow her whole, her three miscreant brothers team up to carelessly throw her together with regimented, Northern software designer, Dre Martin, on a misguided stop en route to Florida. One steamy stop leads to another and soon the two women will learn more about what the right kind of partner can bring to life than they had ever suspected, but can Cara Spencer move forward and out of the pain of her past, or will she succumb to the doubts that have plagued her romantic life from its very inception?

Wednesday, December 9, 2015

A Fool's War by Voss Foster


Author Name: Voss Foster Book Name: A Fool’s War Series: The King Jester Trilogy Book: Three Release Date: December 2, 2015 

  Blurb: Marley is alive, and back with Toby and the rest of Zirkua Fantastic. But King Jester, the spirit of discord, still roams free, and his most fearsome creations, the Princes, have been loosed from their prisons. Now, human and immortal alike are disappearing, no sign of a body or a struggle to be found. More and more of them each day. Now, it’s the duty of the last remnants of resistance to stand strong against the impossible, battle back the chaos before it ravages Earth. And all the while, a single question remains unanswered: can life ever return to normal after this?

Tivi's Dagger by Alex Douglas


Author Name: Alex Douglas Book Name: Tivi’s Dagger Release Date: December 2, 2015  
Blurb: The son and heir to a noble, Nedim Melchion has always been used to the more illicit pleasures in the high society of the Divine Kingdom of Lis, where laws are harsh and punishments harsher. So far his money and status have protected him from the grim realities of life…but now that the Protectors who police the land have a new leader, life has taken an unwelcome turn for the worse. What could be more unfashionable for a noble in his prime than being forced to wear a pilgrim brown tunic while trudging through the dangerous mountain kingdom of Methar to pay homage to the Gods at an ancient shrine? Bound to serve by a Rite invoked by his devout older brother, Nedim can do nothing but count the footsteps until he can get back to his friends, his favorite tavern and his decadent ways. But as he and his traveling companions are guided through the land of the love gods by a handsome young monk, will Nedim find reason to change his ways?

Tuesday, December 8, 2015

Bitter Springs by Laura Stone

Bitter Springs 1600px FRONT (web Smashwords)  

Author Name: Laura Stone Book Name: Bitter Springs Release Date: December 3, 2015  

Today I’m excited to have LAURA STONE author of BITTER SPRINGS on the Book Blog.

Hi Laura, thank you for agreeing to this interview. Tell us a little about yourself, your background, and your current book.

I'm delighted to have been invited, thanks so much! I'm Texan, I'm a mom, I'm a writer, and I'm a Master Gardener. I'm terrific at Spades and Gin Rummy, have a killer chocolate cake recipe, and could live off sourdough bread if push came to shove. I cannot, however, play a harmonica or knit worth a darn. My uncle taught me how to crochet when I was eight, and I guess I'm a loyalist. (I like to claim that instead of just admitting that I'm simply clumsy with the knit-purl business.) This has been your random facts about Laura moment.

Bitter Springs was a challenge I set for myself to write a genre of which I never really read while growing up. Well, I say that, but I did love books like the Little House series, the Justin Morgan books, and I think I checked out King of the Wind every other week in the sixth grade before my parents took a hint and got me my own copy. While not Westerns, they did feature horses and that pioneer spirit so iconic for the genre, which I was a huge fan of—still am!

Bitter Springs also serves the purpose of me showing my father—a man from a long line of ranchers and cowboys—that gay men existed prior to the 1970s. (You'd be surprised at how many people didn't believe there were LGBTQ folk before modern times...)  In the opening of the book, I mention how the idea came to be: I was on a road trip and stopped off in Tombstone, Arizona.  In the famous cemetery there, two men are buried in the same plot, and they are the only folks in the whole cemetery with that distinction.  Mothers and their children weren't even buried together. Turns out these two young men insisted on it, and that got me to thinking about what their lives were prior to their untimely death.  While this book isn't about those two men (there just isn't enough information about them beyond being “the best of friends”), it is about all the men of the time who maybe were “the best of friends” in a way that enabled them to be in long-term relationships with one another in a land where laws didn't matter much, and there weren't too many folks to stick their nose in other people's private affairs.

I also wanted to give voice to the people who actually lived out west in the 19th Century instead of the white, handsome, clean-souled white guy Hollywood likes to claim owned the West. Not even close. Mexicans, Mestizos, Blacks, and especially the Native Americans who had lived on the land for centuries... these were the people who lived and settled the West long before the Anglos, and it's important that we hear their stories. Hopefully your readers will enjoy meeting some of these different families!

Say something to your fans.

Moving from the world of blogging and running fan boards to the world of writing books has been such an amazing turn of events, and it wouldn't have happened without the support from the people who have cheered on my writing over the years. One of my favorite things about the world of readers and writers is how close-knit our relationships with one another become. I've made life-long friends who mean the world to me.

There's a bit of built-in distance with writing books and interacting with fans, and I wish there wasn't. I love talking to people, getting to know what they feel so passionately about, connecting with what interests we both share. I love when I get to chat about those things with readers, old and new. It's such a privilege to have someone connect with the words I've put on a page, and an utter delight to talk about what it is that makes you, the reader, click. Know that for any time you might wonder, “does that author really want to know what I thought about such and such,” let me just speak on my behalf: Yes! I love it!

And you know, that goes for what works and what doesn't. I've had some really interesting criticism about why a thing didn't work for a reader, and it made me want to work harder. There are times when it's just a thing a person prefers, though, so hey. Not much I can do there. But I do love hearing from readers. Especially when it leads to us finding out we're both crocheters or super into baking or hockey fans.  Let me just say that if you read M/M literature and you love hockey, you have a new best friend in me.

It's one of the most amazing turns in my life, becoming a professional writer, and I appreciate each and every one of you helping this long-held dream of mine become reality. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

(But seriously: who's into hockey? I'm from the Land of Football, so I need my gang! Don't be shy! I'll bring the wine and nibbles next Game Night.)

Blurb: In 1870s Texas, Renaldo Valle Santos, the youngest son of a large and traditional family, has been sent to train with Henry “Hank” Burnett, a freed slave and talented mesteñero—or horse- catcher—so he may continue the family horse trade. Bitter Springs is a sweeping epic that takes themes from traditional Mexican literature and Old Westerns to tell the story of a man coming into his own and realizing his destiny lies in the wild open spaces with the man who loves him, far from expectations of society.

Friday, December 4, 2015

The Planet Whisperer by E E Montgomery


Author Name: E E Montgomery Book Name: The Planet Whisperer Release Date: December 4, 2015

Blurb: Jonah Starovski, a Planet Whisperer, harnesses the energy surrounding dead planets and redirects it into new growth. Abandoned by the man who bought him from a brothel sixteen years ago, Jonah flounders in a world he’s ill equipped to deal with. He must accept the help of a stranger in order to rebuild his life. First Lieutenant Marcus Davis volunteers as Jonah’s assistant without realizing the terraforming process requires Jonah’s sexual release. Balanced on the knife-edge of fear and ambition, Marcus is faced with his mother’s machinations and threats to his career. Marcus’s parents bring their illegal scientific experiments to the planets Jonah is terraforming just as Marcus learns to accept himself and his feelings for Jonah. At the same time, Jonah’s past catches up to him, putting them both in danger. Jonah and Marcus must trust in each other to put a stop to the illegal activities, rescue an endangered animal, and create the future they both want—a future they can share.

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Something LIke a Love Song by Becca Burton

SLALS 1600px COVER (RGB) - Front  

Author Name: Becca Burton Book Name: Something Like a Love Song Release Date: November 19, 2015  

I’m excited to have Becca Burton, author of Something Like a Love Song. Hi Becca, on the Book blog Today. Tell us a little about yourself, your background, and your current book.

Thank you for having me. Something Like a Love Song is my first novel, a story about two long time boyfriends who find themselves facing a life changing tragedy and have to find the courage and love for each other to fight through.

While this is my first novel, I have posted many stories online, and have been writing ever since I learned how. I currently work as a nurse in a Neonatal ICU, and medicine has been a big interest in my life, and always seems to find a way into my writing. I am passionate about diverse, LGBTQ fiction, and am very excited to contribute to this genre.

1)      What kind of book would you like to write that people would see as a huge departure for you?

I would love to write a fantasy/sci fi novel someday. I grew up reading fantasy novels and while I’ve strayed from it a bit, I would love to try my hand at writing one. I don’t know if this would seem like a huge departure, but it would definitely be a little different than what I’ve been doing!

2)     Have you ever killed a character? Was it traumatic for you? If you haven’t killed one, would you ever consider it?

I don’t think I have killed a character. I would consider doing it if it was important for the story, but I’m not a fan of characters being killed off just for shock value. Sometimes it’s a part of the story, and is necessary, but I would want my readers to understand why I had to do it.

3)     Favorite location you’ve ever written about?

I spent much of my life growing up in the Midwest, and while now I live in Oregon, the Midwest has a very special place in my heart and usually makes an appearance in my stories. Living in Oregon now, I find the state so fascinating and beautiful, I think it will be my new favorite place to write about.

4)     What’s your favorite season and favorite activity for that season?

Fall. Definitely fall. I love the cooler weather, and the smell of fallen leaves, and jumping into leaf piles and listening to them crunch. My favorite activity would probably be hiking in the woods and seeing all the different colors that nature has to offer. Or just walking downtown and stopping to warm up with a cup of coffee somewhere. I love the simple, peaceful days that fall can bring.


Blurb: One tragic night left Landon and Dylan’s dreams of happily ever after in apparent ruin. Forced to overcome physical and emotional trauma, the young lovers turn to a network of family and friends as they attempt to rebuild their lives. But can their one constant—their love—survive the changes both undergo on the road to recovery?

Tuesday, November 17, 2015

Dream God by J. Johanis

Dream God by J Johanis 4x6  
Author Name: J. Johanis Book Name: Dream God  
Series: S-Gods Book: Two Series should be read in order for maximum enjoyment. Release Date: November 30, 2015

Today I’m excited to have J. Johanis, author of Dream God, on the Book Blog today!.

Tell us the highlight of your writing career (so far).

It’s hard to say what the highlight of my career is since it hasn’t been long since I published my book. However, I’d have to say that the highlight for me so far was going to GRL this year in San Diego. It was great meeting other m/m authors and readers as well as people I’ve become acquainted with on Goodreads, Facebook, & GLBT blogs. Though I loved the readings and author panels, I had the most fun in the evenings going to dinners and parties. It was such a great feeling being surrounded by people who love m/m romance just as much as I do. As this was my first event, I hope to attend more in the future. I especially have my sights set on Euro Pride Con in Berlin.

Blurb: For the first time in three years, Aya is finally free, but with his freedom comes the pain of all he’s lost. Seeing Akad and Marduk together makes him realize how badly he has messed up. By betraying Marduk, he ruined his chance with the one god he desires more than anything. Aya needs time to heal and put his world back together, but the trial against the Order looms over him. As the trial begins, Akad, Marduk, and Aya are ensnared in a web of jealousy, backstabbing, and cut-throat politics. Were they crazy to think they could stand up to the Order? If the gods of the Order can still rip their lives apart, their chances of receiving justice may be next to impossible. But if they fail to bring the Order down, Aya may never be free from their grasp. Content Advisory: M/M sex, polyamory, & dub-con.

Tuesday, November 10, 2015

Safety in Number by Jessie G


Author Name: Jessie G. Book Name: Safety In Numbers Series: Sizzling Miami Book: Five Release Date: October 31, 2015  

Thank you to Book Reviews, Rants, and Raves for hosting Safety in Numbers today. This installment in the Sizzling Miami series has been the most anticipated and I worried more over this book than any other I’ve written. Now that it’s out there in the world, I’m still worried, but so far the feedback has been beyond my expectations. I’d like to touch on one of the comments I received after the review ARC’s went out.

One of the bloggers who received an early review copy of Safety in Numbers sent a PM thanking me for not writing to a formula. I don’t know if my books are different in the grand scheme of the genre, but I do believe that my books are very different from each other. Though I’m writing a series, the first book was an angst filled cop drama, while the second was more of a tender love story with only a little bit of external angst (no cops required), and the third was more BDSM with severe past abuse themes and a drug dealer. This book is none of those things. First, it’s about two different couples that needed to be told together. Second, while the MC’s have angst-filled pasts, their approach to the present is also very different. The story hinges solely on these two couples finding their way and has little to no external present day angst. So, yeah, this little group has a lot of connections and they all help each other, but each of them leads very different lives.

At the end of The Protector, book 3, I knew I would be writing a full length sequel to address the issues that book raised, though I believed the HEA at the end was solid. I still believe it, but there was a bit of an outcry that made me divulge that I’d be doing a sequel, even though I’d intended to make it a surprise book. This time, knowing I left a couple of questions unanswered, I flat out say at the end that there’s more to come. It’s not a cliffhanger, don’t misunderstand, you always get your HEA from me, but readers will want to know what happens after—I want to know what happens after. J

I wish I could say that I was organized enough to have plotted the series out that way, but it would be a lie. I know who my main characters are and I have a timeline of whose next, as well as an organizational chart of how they’re all connected, but that’s the extent of my planning. The characters talk to me constantly, some louder than others, and the story really doesn’t come together until I open the document and put my fingers to the keyboard. What flows is as much a surprise to me as it is to my readers. 

Blurb: “Bros stick together no matter what.” When Chris and Liam made that promise, they had no idea how important it would become or how it would be tested in the most brutal way. Nine years later, their bond cemented in blood, that relationship is all they have to hold on to. “No matter what happens, this friendship will be the one constant we can count on.” When Billy and Owen made that promise, they knew exactly how dangerous the world could be. They survived prison by protecting each other and they survived freedom by holding that promise sacred. Now they want more than just to survive and they want it from the brothers whose bond is as strong as their own. “We are stronger together than we’ll ever be apart.” When Owen reaches his breaking point, Chris jumps at the chance to make things right for all of them. With the future in their grasp, will they realize their strength is in their numbers and finally become the family they crave?  

Author’s Note: This is NOT a foursome, but the story of two couples that needed to be told together.

Tuesday, October 27, 2015

Seven Tears at High Tide by C.B. Lee

I’m excited to have C.b. Lee, author of  Seven Tears at High Tide, on the Book Blog!

Hi there! Thank you so much for interviewing me today, I'm happy to be here.
I'm C.B., I'm a bisexual woman from California and some of my favorite things are writing, hiking, and traveling. I'm a first generation Asian American and I'm excited to be introducing some characters whose backgrounds are similar to my own. My first novel is Seven Tears at High Tide, is all about falling in love and dealing with the consequences of a making a magical wish.

1)      Favorite thing about building your own world?

Bringing an idea to life! It's incredibly satisfying to write in the fantasy genre to create the rules of your universe. Anything can happen, but that can make things complicated very quickly because then you have so many options, and it can be different to know where to start. I like to base my magic on elements of reality, like for instance one of abilities that Morgan has as a selkie— his enhanced sense of smell, is based on a seal's innate ability to recognize others by scent.

2)     What inspired you to write your first book?

It was in a transitional period in my life after college when I was on a road trip on my own; it was kind of a melancholy trip but I enjoyed it, driving on my own, camping, hiking by myself, seeing the coast. One blustery day I'd stopped by the Piedras Blancas rookery and watched the seals sun themselves on the beach. There was one seal that wasn't laying with the others, just sitting a distance away, watching the waves, and I thought there could be a story here.

3)     Do you have a specific writing style?

I really enjoy writing in present tense. It's part of my style to put the reader directly in the scene as it's happening, constantly. I definitely like to keep a balance of heart and humor within a story, even if there are heavier themes, and keep the tone light and enjoyable to read.  

4)     Who are some of the authors that influenced you to write?

Diane Duane, Terry Pratchett, J.K. Rowling, and Neil Gaiman most definitely, for their intricate worlds of magic. Lawrence Yep and Amy Tan were also a huge influence on me for being one of the few voices in literature when I was a child to create amazing characters and stories I could identify with.

5)     What are some jobs you’ve held? Have any of them impacted your writing? How?

Ah, quite a few. I've was a youth outdoor program instructor at a few nonprofits and also at a California state park, and after that I was in academia for awhile, working on my PHD in the sciences, and now I work in graphic design. I think all of my experiences have definitely contributed to the way I see the world and how people interact with one another, things that definitely do go into my writing. When I worked with children and teenagers in the various outdoor programs, I learned so much about listening, about people letting themselves enjoy things and really discover so much about their world at the same time.

My favorite thing— one of the nonprofits was aimed at getting low-income and at-risk youth out hiking and backpacking— was seeing kids absolutely stunned at this world. One particular memory of mine was a short hike in a local park and there was a trickling stream bubbling over rocks and these kids— twelve, thirteen or so, on the cusp of growing up, having lived in the city all this time, were just fascinated, turning rocks over, touching the water, watching it flow. And one of the other instructors thought this was hilarious because they were quite well traveled, and were finding it funny that these kids thought this little streambed and bit of green was so spectacular, and they said something to the point where this wasn't a scenic trip, and that they were looking forward to a "real" trip. It hit me then, that this was beautiful to these kids, and I thought it was beautiful too, and it wasn't a matter of experience on better

Kevin Luong walks to the ocean’s edge with a broken heart. Remembering a legend his mother told him, he lets seven tears fall into the sea. “I just want one summer—one summer to be happy and in love.” Instead, he finds himself saving a mysterious boy from the Pacific—a boy who later shows up on his doorstep professing his love. What he doesn’t know is that Morgan is a selkie, drawn to answer Kevin’s wish. As they grow close, Morgan is caught between the dangers of the human world and his legacy in the selkie community to which he must return at summer’s end.

Pages or Words: 234 pages

Categories: Contemporary, Fantasy, Gay Fiction, M/M Romance, Romance, Young Adult

They wander into the house, wipe their wet feet on the welcome mat, climb up the stairs and giggle as they pass Ann’s bedroom. She’s dancing with her headphones on, oblivious to the open door, swaying to the beat.
In Kevin’s bedroom, he quickly scrounges up some clean shirts and shorts. “Here, you can wear this,” he says, handing an outfit to Morgan and then ducking into his bathroom to change. He peels off the wetsuit and hangs it up in his shower, then leans his surfboard carefully against the wall, eyeing the crack. He’ll have to fix it tomorrow.
When he returns, Morgan is holding onto the wet board shorts, wearing the outfit Kevin gave him. He looks curiously at the rock collection prominently displayed on Kevin’s bookshelf. “These are beautiful,” he says.
“Here, I’ll take that,” Kevin says, holding out his hand for the bedraggled board shorts to hang in his shower. He’s certain now that they’re the ones from the lifeguard’s lost and found. Kevin’s starting to worry that Morgan doesn’t have any other clothes, but he doesn’t know how to bring it up. Money can be a touchy subject.
Morgan holds Kevin’s favorite specimen, a piece of green olivine on basalt. Kevin once almost convinced Ann it was an avocado roll—it certainly looks like one, bright green speckled with sesame seeds, wrapped in dark seaweed.
“That’s from Mexico. My family went on vacation to Baja last year, and I got that out of an old volcano.” He tries his best to describe the sweltering heat and the excitement of finding geodes and cracking them open with a hammer. Morgan listens in rapt silence as Kevin talks about the find and tilts the olivine so it catches the light. He sets it back in its spot behind its label, slowly so as not to disturb the other specimens, and Kevin is quietly pleased with Morgan's careful appreciation.
“I changed my mind,” Kevin blurts out.
“About what?”
“I do want this to be a date. For us, to do that,” he says, blushing. “I like you. A lot.”
Morgan’s face breaks into a bright, happy smile.
“And what do we do differently, for this to be a date?”
Kevin can feel the heat on his cheeks. “We can hold hands, if you like. Um, or kiss, if you want to. But we don’t have to do anything you don’t want to. I’m fine just hanging out and watching a movie with you.”
Morgan tilts his head and steps closer. “I want to,” he says, not specifying what, but Kevin knows immediately.
It’s just the quickest brush of lips, but Kevin feels it all the way to his toes. A warm curl of excitement blooms throughout his body, and Morgan’s mouth is warm and wet against his. It’s not like any kiss he’s had, chaste and sweet and over in a second, and yet his heart is still pounding after Morgan leans back. He’s close enough for Kevin to be able to count the eyelashes dark against his cheek.
Morgan ducks his head and asks, “Was that okay?”
Kevin's a little dazed, but he finds his voice. “Yeah. Yeah, that was great.”

Buy the book:

Meet and connect with C. B. Lee:
C. B. Lee is a bisexual writer, rock climber and pinniped enthusiast based in California. Lee enjoys reading, hiking and other outdoor pursuits. Seven Tears At High Tide is a first novel.

Connect with C.B. at, on Facebook,,
on Twitter @author_cblee, and on Goodreads at

Goodreads Link:

Publisher: Interlude Press

Cover Artist: C.B. Lee

Cover Design by C.B. Messer

Tour Dates & Stops:

Rafflecopter Prize: $25 Interlude Press Gift Card to one grand prize winner plus copies of the Seven Tears at High Tide multi-format eBook to five winners

a Rafflecopter giveaway